Sponsored by Bribar
Denise Payet 2017 Junior National Cup Winner

Author: Paul Stimpson

Publish date: April 2, 2017

Tom Jarvis and Denise Payet both maintained unbeaten records to finish top of the pile at the Junior National Cup.

The top seeds were in good form throughout, with few awkward moments – though Jarvis did have to come from 3-1 down to defeat Josh Bennett.

The competition, at Milton Keynes TTC, was for players at the top of the rankings and played on a round-robin format.


Denise Payet added the Junior National Cup to her list of honours with a 100% record, upgrading the Cadet title she took last year.

Mollie Patterson and Jasmin Wong were second and third respectively, having started the competition at No 6 and No 7 on paper.

Already two players light after fifth seed Zahna Hall and fourth seed Charlotte Bardsley withdrew before day one with illness and injury respectively, the field was further depleted when third seed Gauri Duhan pulled out on the second morning with a leg injury.

It meant seven remained, and confirmed top seed Payet as gold medallist before a ball was hit on day 2, Duhan having been the only player who could have prevented that.

It also opened up the minor medals, and Patterson quickly took possession of silver with victories over Jasmin Wong and Sophie Barlow in her first two matches of the day, confirming it by defeating Ruby Chan in round 8 to finish with five wins from six.

Chan picked up her first victory in round 7, though not before seeing her opponent Sarah Menghistab fight back from 3-0 down to level.

The battle for bronze was still live going into the final round as Menghistab and Wong faced off, and it was the latter who controlled proceedings throughout a 4-0 win to claim the last podium place and put her in good heart for the Cadet National Cup next week, where she is seeded No 3.

Payet finished on a high with her only match of day 2, a four-end triumph over Kate Cheer, who by comparison endured a tournament to forget.

And Barlow ensured every player left with at least one win to their name as she defeated Chan in the final round of matches.

Finishing order: 1 Denise Payet, 2 Mollie Patterson, 3 Jasmin Wong, 4 Sarah Menghistab, 5 Kate Cheer, 6 Sophie Barlow, 7 Ruby Chan.

Full results

Round 1
Payet bt Barlow 4-1 (5-11, 11-6, 11-3, 11-6, 11-5)

Round 2
Payet bt Chan 4-0 (11-8, 11-8, 11-9, 11-6)

Round 3
Payet bt Meghistab 4-0 (12-10, 11-5, 11-6, 11-4)

Round 4
Payet bt Wong 4-1 (11-6, 11-8, 8-11, 11-6, 11-8)

Round 5
Payet bt Patterson 4-2 (11-7, 11-6, 9-11, 3011, 11-3, 11-8)

Round 9
Payet bt Cheer 4-0 (11-4, 11-6, 11-5, 12-10)

About us

Ellenborough Table Tennis Club
Craddock Road, Enfield, Middlesex, EN1 3SP
The Club Tel No: 020 8363 1585
Community Amateur Sports Club No. 05153
Club Location

Contact us

General Enquiry: Colin Miller
Membership: Ron Smith 020 8363 8643 or 07957 450792
Hall or Table Booking: Joan Bayman
Website Admin: Bernie Kelly

Facebook & Twitter Admin: Sandy Nash
Coaching: Enquiries

© Copyright 2016 - 2019 Ellenborough Table Tennis Club